HANG UP & DRIVEPolice in Southern California are ticketing drivers for texting, using a cellphone without a hands free device, or drivers who are distracted.
April 3-16 will be zero-tolerance week for drivers that aren't following the laws. There will be no warnings just very expensive tickets. Fines start at about $160 for a first offense . A second offense will cost about $280.
April 2012 saw about 57,000 people in California get tickets for driving while distracted, and about 450,000 people were ticketed during the entire year.
According to federal highway officials 3,300 people died in 2011 nationwide in accidents involving at least one distracted driver.
Surprisingly, adults are more likely to text or talk on the phone while driving than teenagers. Hang up, put the phone away and be safe.